tunes i am whaleman can’t get enough of

So yer old buddy i am whaleman rides the light rail to work.  I love it because it’s cheaper than driving, I don’t have to buy gas, and it gives me plenty of time for the Twitter and whatnot.  Oh, and there are all kinds of weirdys and nutballs and such for me to laugh at.  I also have plenty of time to listen to music.  Over the last little while, I keep coming back to a few songs that I’d be happy to share with you.

Animal Collective, “Summertime Clothes.”  If you don’t know these guys, y’oughter.  I had heard of them here and there, but paid attention after I read about 11 “Best of 2009” music lists that had their album Merriweather Post Pavilion as the best album of the year.  It’s a good album.  I dig it.  I borrowed it from the library.  Heh heh.  But this song is, I think, the best song on the album by far.  The pulsing electronic thing, the great refrain…all of it.  I can listen to it over and over and over again.  Please to enjoy:

Andrew Bird, “Not a Robot But a Ghost.”  I was a longtime Andrew Bird holdout.  Crt kept telling me he was good and I kept hatin’ for no particular reason.  Well, not hatin’ exactly, but you know what I mean.  Andrew Bird does some cool shit.  Like this song.  Totally cool.

Modest Mouse, “Missed The Boat.”  This is one of those songs that I could listen to 800 times in a row and not get tired of it.  And Modest Mouse has a lot of repeatable songs.  But this, I think, is the most beautiful song Modest Mouse have ever done.  It’s not something you can often say about Modest Mouse.  I mean, listening to their music, you’d think they should’ve been called…oh, I don’t know…Built to Spill.  But this song is absolutely beautiful.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t find an embeddable version, so if you haven’t heard it and you want to, you’ll have to follow the link.  I know you don’t like to click on links.  I know I erred in insisting that people follow the link to the Tim Lincecum-unicorn decapitation cartoon.  But at least think about it.

“Missed The Boat”

Leave a Reply

