youtubetuesday, gringos!

Do you ever wonder who controls the rights to certain music?  Like, for example, it’s fairly common knowledge that Michael Jackson, back in the day, bought the rights to the entire Beatles catalog.  Paul McCartney didn’t get to approve using the Beatles’ music for all sorts of ridiculous commercials and whatnot (which is probably a good thing; you know that backstabbing dirtbag would’ve sold every song in the catalog to the highest–no, make that the anyest–bidder as long as they credited him with being at least the primary writer, if not the only writer of the song…in fact, I’m sure he would’ve given discounts to any client who would submit a notarized statement saying they had never heard of John Lennon, and in truth could not be sure he had ever even existed.  I don’t much care for Paul McCartney).  Only Michael could approve that.  Now, I really do ask this question for a reason.  I ask, because have you heard the song “Armada Latina”?  I don’t know what kind of radio all y’all listen to; I heard this song entirely by accident.  But this song, this “Armada Latina,” which I believe translates roughly to “Latin Armada,” features a sample which I can’t say I expected would ever turn up in a song by Cypress Hill featuring Pitbull and Marc Anthony.  Or as a sample in any song for that matter.  Give it a listen:

Yeah, that’s right.  That’s a little CSNY in there.  Crosby Stills Nash & Young’s Suite: Judy Blue Eyes is featured in a song by a group whose claim to fame is “Insane in the Brain.”  So I heard this the other day, and my first thought was, “What the f@*k?” and my second thought was, “Who are the ad wizards who came up with that one?”  Well, without doing a lot of digging, I have a guess as to who might have some say over what happens to CSNY’s music.  Did you watch the video?  Did you see this?

Correct me if I’m wrong, please, but that’s Steven Stills, is it not?  That’s right.  It’s Stills.  So does that mean that Stills is in control?  And can you imagine that video shoot?  So, B-Real and the other dude from Cypress Hill are chillin’ with Pitbull, and here comes…Steven Stills?  Did they sit around and enjoy some blunts together?  That’s what Latin guys do, right?  Enjoy some blunts?  What’s a blunt?  Anyway, um…here’s some more Cypress Hill just for fun:

And some Pitbull:

And, just to round things out, some Steven Stills:

Yep, that fits.

Leave a comment